Perth Preview for WSR

V8 Supercars resumes this weekend with the Perth SuperSprint where Scott McLaughlin scored the first official victory for Volvo Polestar Racing last year. The Kiwi is back with a brand new Volvo S60 race car.

”I am really excited about the new car and the track is very special for us as we got our first win there last season,” said McLaughlin.

The season start has been tough for McLaughlin who has started to work his way back up through the standings, moving from 20th to 13th position after the race in Tasmania five weeks ago.

”It is a completely different ballgame this year, everyone has stepped up from last year. But I am confident that we can have a good showing in Perth to get the championship back on track, scoring some vital points,” said McLaughlin.

David Wall changes car as well ahead of the Perth weekend, taking over McLaughlin’s car, and is keen to get going again after some vital time off for the foot injury he sustained earlier this year to heal.

”I am taking over Scott’s car, something that feels good. It is a little bit new which is always a good thing. Time off has been good and my foot injury is mending well. I am really excited to get back on track,” said Wall.

Perth SuperSprint – V8 Supercars

Circuit: Barbagallo Raceway
Length: 2411 m
Lap record (V8SC): 0:55.9440, Jason Bright (2004) 


Friday 1/5
10:30 Practice 1 (60 min)
13:30 Practice 2 (60 min) 

Saturday 2/5
09:15 Practice 3 (15 min)
10:40 Qualifying – Race 7 (10 min)
11:05 Qualifying – Race 8 (10 min)
13:15 Race 7 (25 laps)
15:15 Race 8 (25 laps) 

Sunday 3/5
10:55 Practice 4 (15 min)
12:00 Qualifying – Race 9 (20 min)
14:20 Race 9 (83 laps) 

Championship Standings – Top 5

1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore 483 pts
2 James Courtney Holden Commodore 464 (-19)
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore 460 (-23)
4 Garth Tander Holden Commodore 457 (-26)
5 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore 246 (-27)

13 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 231 (-252)
22 David Wall Volvo S60 158 (-325)

TV Schedule


Related Articles

Garry’s 2018 Adelaide 500 Report

Garry’s 2018 Adelaide 500 Report

Away we go again! This year the Adelaide 500 celebrated its 20th year. In Australia Bathurst stands alone as our most famous event, but the Adelaide 500 has forged its own place as an iconic Supercar event.

Read More
Wilson Security Racing GRM unveil 2018 Livery

Wilson Security Racing GRM unveil 2018 Livery

Wilson Security Racing has taken the wraps off their 2018 livery. As previously announced the Wilson Group will continue as the team’s official naming rights partner for a fourth consecutive season.

Read More


Following a year where Tickford Racing honoured Allan Moffat’s legendary 1977 win at the Bathurst 1000, the Moffat name will again be celebrated in 2018 with the addition of James Moffat to Tickford Racing's co-driver lineup for the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Read More
Wilson Security