Strong Start in Sydney for WSR

Scott McLaughlin fought his way up into the top five in the second race of the weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, a result lifting him to eleventh in the championship.

”It has been a bloody good day for us. We moved to eleventh in the championship and we were 18th about two rounds ago, so it is a big fight back and hopefully we can keep on truckin’,” said McLaughlin.

The Wilson Security Racing GRM (Volvo Polestar Racing) driver gained one position in the first race from ninth on the grid to eighth. The second race saw the Kiwi climbing even further, starting sixth and making his way past Shane Van Gisbergen and David Reynolds to finish fourth behind race one winner Chaz Mostert.

”We didn’t have the qualifying pace we wanted to, but it was good to be in the top ten of both sessions. I pushed forward in the races, gaining only one spot in the first race on the hard tyre. The car was awesome on the soft tyre and I managed to make my way past a couple of guys,” said McLaughlin.

Team mate David Wall qualified 22nd for the first race and 21st for the second. The first race saw him being turned around in the first corner while he climbed one spot to 20th in the second race.

”An up and down day. The balance of the car was pretty good, unfortunately we made a little change to the car before qualifying which in the end hurt me. We went back for that in the soft tyre run and the car was better. But I started too far back for where the car should be. Go turned around in the first race, but ended up a spot forward in race two. We will tune it up tomorrow and see what the weather does, looks like it is going to be wet,” said Wall.

Sydney Motorsport Park SuperSprint – V8 Supercars
Circuit: Eastern Creek
Length: 3905 m
Lap record (V8SC): 1:30:9405, Jonathon Webb, 2012

View Results

Schedule - Sunday 23/8
11:45 Qualifying – Race 23 (20 min)
14:00 Race 23 (52 laps)

Championship Standings – Top 5
1 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon 1858 points
2 Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon 1591 (-267)
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore 1582 (-276)
4 David Reynolds Ford Falcon 1531 (-327)
5 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore 1442 (-416)

11 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 975 (-883)
23 David Wall Volvo S60 654 (-1204)

Related Articles

Garry’s 2018 Darwin Race Report

Garry’s 2018 Darwin Race Report

We love Darwin! Two weeks ago, we were testing at Winton (Benalla, Victoria) and thankfully for this time of year we enjoyed a beautiful, clear sunny day.

Read More
WSR’s Special Indigenous Livery

WSR’s Special Indigenous Livery

For the second year Wilson Security Racing GRM are both proud and privileged to be the public face of Wilson Securities substantial input to reconciliation in Australia.

Read More
Garry’s 2018 Winton SuperSprint Report

Garry’s 2018 Winton SuperSprint Report

Winton is a raceway that holds many memories for me including those of my very first motor race in 1963.

Read More
Wilson Security