WSR GRM Tassie Preview

Wilson Security Racing GRM (Volvo Polestar Racing) and Scott McLaughlin are heading to Tasmania this weekend for the third race weekend of 2015 with the ambition to get back into the V8 Supercars championship hunt.

”This is a pretty strong track for the Volvo. For us it needs to be a strong weekend to build on and get back into the championship hunt,” said McLaughlin.

McLaughlin has had a tough start to the season, currently trailing the championship lead with just over 160 points and the Kiwi is a man on a mission this weekend.

”We can’t really afford any bad more weekends. The competition is the toughest it has ever been and guys like Courtney and Whincup aren’t going to falter. I can definitely see us having a good weekend and getting the championship back on track,” said McLaughlin.

David Wall is back again after missing the Melbourne GP race weekend due to an injury and is keen to get a strong result from Tasmania.

”After being out of the car for the Melbourne GP due to the injuries I had from Clipsal, I am obviously looking forward to get back into the car and getting back with the crew for the weekend. I am aiming to come away with a result that we are all happy with and more importantly just getting my butt back inside car 34,” said Wall.

The Tasmania SuperSprint weekend starts on Friday with practice, followed by qualifying and the first two races of 25 laps each on Saturday. The weekend is ended with the final and longer race of 84 laps.

Tasmania SuperSprint – V8 Supercars
Circuit: Symmons Plains

Length: 2411 m
Lap record (V8SC): 0:51.4713, Rick Kelly (2009)

(Times in UTC +11h) 

Friday 27/3
10:05 Practice 1 (60 min)
13:25 Practice 2 (60 min) 

Saturday 28/3
11:20 Practice 3 (15 min)
12:55 Qualifying – Race 4 (10 min)
13:20 Qualifying – Race 5 (10 min)
15:15 Race 4 (25 laps)
17:15 Race 5 (25 laps) 

Sunday 29/3
10:20 Practice 4 (15 min)
11:55 Qualifying – Race 6 (20 min)
14:00 Race 6 (84 laps)

Championship Standings – Top 5
1 James Courtney Holden Commodore 258 pts
2 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore 241 (-17)
3 Garth Tander Holden Commodore 237 (-21)
4 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore 222 (-36)
5 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore 216 (-42)

14 David Wall Volvo S60 114 (-144)
18 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 93 (-165)

TV Schedule

Related Articles

Garry’s 2018 Darwin Race Report

Garry’s 2018 Darwin Race Report

We love Darwin! Two weeks ago, we were testing at Winton (Benalla, Victoria) and thankfully for this time of year we enjoyed a beautiful, clear sunny day.

Read More
WSR’s Special Indigenous Livery

WSR’s Special Indigenous Livery

For the second year Wilson Security Racing GRM are both proud and privileged to be the public face of Wilson Securities substantial input to reconciliation in Australia.

Read More
Garry’s 2018 Winton SuperSprint Report

Garry’s 2018 Winton SuperSprint Report

Winton is a raceway that holds many memories for me including those of my very first motor race in 1963.

Read More
Wilson Security